The Nigerian Senate, on Tuesday, February 23, confirmed the appointment of the immediate past service chiefs as non-career ambassadors-designate.

The former service chiefs are Abayomi Olonisakin, former chief of defence staff; Tukur Buratai, former chief of army staff; Ibok-Ete Ibas, former chief of naval staff, and Sadique Abubakar, former chief of air staff.

Although the Senate Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe, drew the attention of the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, to the petition against the ex-service chiefs, Lawan replied that the petition lacked merit.

After the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs that was given by Senator Mohammed Bulkachuwa, the Senators voted in favour of the appointment.

Lawan said, “The nominees that we have just confirmed are nominees that have served this great country to the best of their ability as Service Chiefs, and today, they have been confirmed as Non-Career Ambassadors. Our appeal to the Executive is to make sure that we utilize their experiences as Military men to the best because we should be able to post them to countries where they can be much more useful in their engagements as Ambassadors.”

Also Read: APC Is a Redemption Camp for Corrupt Politicians – Dino Melaye


Click for More News

Tell us your view below: