Oshoala wins CAF Player of the year Award for the fifth time

Oshoala wins CAF Player of the year Award for the fifth time

Oshoala wins CAF Player of the year Award for the fifth time

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala, has defeated Zambia’s Grace Chanda and Ajara Nchout Njoya of Cameroon to win the CAF Women’s Player of The Year Award on Thursday. The Barcelona striker has won the coveted prize for a record fifth time.

Senegalese superstar Sadio (Senegal/Liverpool) retained his men’s title at the awards ceremony held in Rabat, Morocco.

The award ceremony took place in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday.

Oshoala is now the sole record holder for the most award wins, thus stamping her authority on the continent.

The 27-year-old equalled countrywoman Perpetua Nkwocha’s fourth CAF Women’s Player of the Year Award at the 2019 Awards Gala.

After receiving her record-breaking award, an elated Oshola dedicated the award to her teammates.

“It’s a record-breaking night for me as an Individual and for Africa as a whole. I’ve got five, FIVE!

“I want to thank everyone who helped me out in my career. The 2021/122 season was really tough for me.

READ ALSO:  'Magic Jay-Jay'- Another ex-Brazil star praises Okocha after Ozil called him his idol

“This year made me realise if you don’t fall, you don’t know the power of comeback. Special thanks to my teammates at FC Barcelona and the national team, the best team in the world Super Falcons.

“Also, thanks to my (NFF) President, Amaju Pinnick, for always helping us and making sure we can do our stuff on the pitch. I want to dedicate this award to the Super Falcons team, who showed the world their hard work even though they were two women down.”

The Falcons striker was the only Nigerian nominee at the 2022 CAF awards after Falcons’ coach Randy Waldrum, who was originally nominated for Coach of The Year, was dropped from the final shortlist along with Monday Gift, and Super Eagles duo Moses Simon and Akinkunmi Amoo.

Despite being injury-laden for a large part of last season (three months), Oshoala finished top scorer in the Liga Iberdrola with 20 goals in 19 appearances to become the first African to win the Pichichi award in Spain.

READ ALSO:  Emmanuel Dennis relaxes after tough results –

Mane, who joined German giants this summer from Liverpool, beat his former club teammate Mohamed Salah (Egypt) and compatriot Edouard Mendy (Chelsea) to the men’s award.

Oshoala wins CAF Player of the year Award for the fifth time

%d bloggers like this: