The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) has approved three COVID-19 vaccines – Moderna, AstraZeneca (from Korea) and Sputnik V for emergency use.

The AstraZeneca is from Korea due. This is due to the stall in the procurement of the AstraZeneca vaccine also known as Covishield, manufactured under licence by Serum Institute of India due to the COVID-19 pandemic in the country.

It could be recalled that the agency had previously approved AstraZeneca (India), Pfizer BioNTech and Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccines, in February and May 2021, respectively.

The Director-General of the NAFDAC, Prof Mojisola Adeyeye, who announced this at its headquarters in Abuja on Thursday,  explained that the agency’s vaccine committee expedited the review of the vaccines based on emergency use listing (EUL) given by the World Health Organisation (WHO) or approval by stringent regulatory countries.

According to her, the agency has reviewed the vaccines and they have gone through quality, safety and efficacy evaluations, adding that the benefits far exceed the risks.

The NAFDAC boss disclosed the emergency use listing will allow Nigeria receive vaccines from COVAX facility, which uses a track-and-trace or traceability system to prevent fake vaccines from infiltrating the system and stall the divergence of vaccines across the country.

More to come….



Click for More News

Tell us your view below: