Ellis Unveils Banyana Banyana 23-Woman Squad For 2022 WAFCON

completesports classifieds

Head coach of Banyana Banyana Desiree Ellis has announced the final 23-woman squad to represent South Africa at the Africa Women’s Cup of nations in Morocco from 2-23 July 2022, Completesports.com reports.

The final squad was announced on South Africa Football Association‘s (SAFA) official website on Monday.
Ellis also announced three players who will be on the standby list.

Speaking at the press conference on Monday afternoon, Ellis was full of praise for the Hollywoodbets coaches for the work they have done in keeping the players fit.

She further praised the players for the effort they displayed during the local preparation/selection camp.

Also Read: Done Deal: Nigerian Midfielder Joins Anderlecht On Four-Year Contract

The Banyana Banyana coach said selecting the final squad for the tournament was a difficult task for the technical team.

“I want to start off by giving a big thank to the coaches out there for the fantastic job that they have done since the leagues have started,” said Ellis.

READ ALSO:  It's No Longer Buju... Call Him By His New Name 'BNXN'

“We had a good week and a half and with many of the overseas based players joining us, many have stepped up. We had a good mix of youth and experience for the past week and half.”

South Africa are in Group C alongside Nigeria, Botswana and Burundi.

They will open their campaign against Nigeria on July 4 inside the Stade Moulay Hassan in Rabat.

The last time both teams clashed at the Women’s Cup of Nations was in the final of the 2018 edition in Cameroon.

The Falcons triumphed 4-3 on penalties against Banyana Banyana to secure their ninth continental.

Banyana Banyana Final Squad:

Andile Dlamini
Kaylin Swart
Regirl Ngobeni

Karabo Dhlamini
Lebohang Ramalepe
Janine Van Wyk
Bambanani Mbane
Bongeka Gamede
Noko Matlou

Refiloe Jane
Nomvula Kgoale
Linda Motlhalo
Thalea Smidt
Kholosa Biyana
Amogelang Motau
Robyn Moodaly
Sibulele Holweni

Jermaine Seoposenwe
Melinda Kgadiete
Noxolo Cesane
Nthabiseng Majiya
Thembi Kgatlana
Hildah Magaia
Standby players:
Kebotseng Moletsane
Tiisetso Makhubela
Thubelihle Shamase

READ ALSO:  AFCON 2021 : Eight interesting facts about Nigeria's starting lineup to face Sudan :: All Nigeria Soccer

By James Agberebi

completesports classifieds Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.

News Source

Tech Solutions with THE DGIT:

Build Your Websites and Mobile Apps

%d bloggers like this: