The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won 15 out of the 17 chairmanship and councillorship seats in the local government council elections held on Saturday in Kaduna State.

Out of the 17 LGA seats contested, the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won two.

Meanwhile, the polls were postponed in four of the 23 local government areas to September 25 over security concerns.

There was an initial sensation when the PDP won in Governor Nasir El-Rufai’s Unguwan Sarki polling unit in Kaduna North LGA. However, the APC rallied to win the chairmanship and most of the councillorship seats in the council.

The APC also won in the home councils of top PDP chieftains, including of former Vice President Namadi Sambo and former Governor Ahmed Makarfi.

Deputy Governor Hadiza Balarabe also delivered Sanga Local Government in the PDP-leaning southern senatorial district to the APC.

The councils won by the APC include: Kagarko, Kubau, Kudan, Lere, Zaria, Soba, Sanga, Jema’a, Giwa, Kaduna North, Makarfi, Igabi, Kaduna South, Sabon Gari and Ikara.

The PDP won the chairmanship seats in Jaba and Kaura local government areas.

Meanwhile, the chairmanship election in Kachia local government area was declared inconclusive. According to the returning officer, the canceled and uncast votes were over 13,000 more than the recorded votes.

According to the result announced, Allison Chitta of the PDP scored 24,482 votes to Aaron Bako of the APC’s 23,270 votes.

READ ALSO: Kaduna LGA Poll: PDP Wins El-Rufai’s Ward


Click for More News

Tell us your view below: